To delete your Instagram account, go to the Instagram app or website and follow these steps.
Reasons for deleting your Instagram account
There are a variety of reasons why you might want to delete your Instagram account. It could be that you’re concerned about security and don’t feel confident in Instagram’s ability to keep hackers at bay. Or maybe you just don’t like being an active user on any social media platform. Whatever it is, there are ways that you can take back control of your privacy and officially make your exit from Instagram—permanently if desired.
How to delete your Instagram
On your profile, select your username from the top-right corner. Select Settings in the dropdown menu. At bottom of Settings, select Account. On the next page, you’ll see a link that says Deactivate my account. Click on it and then click on OK for confirmation. That’s it! Easy isn’t it? Follow these easy steps and delete your Instagram account right away! Why should I delete my account?
Deleting vs deactivating your Inatagram account
It’s easy to do either of these things. To delete your account, tap your profile picture in the top-right corner and select Settings from that menu. From there, tap Delete my account and enter your password before you confirm. If you deactivate your account, it will be hidden from public view but won’t be deleted entirely; you can reactivate at any time. The difference between deleting and deactivating may seem like semantics, but it could impact how often (and by whom) you are contacted outside of Instagram—it will also make a permanent change in what data is available to third parties through our APIs or otherwise.
Are you sure you want to delete your Instagram account?
Deleting your account is permanent and irreversible, so think long and hard before doing it. You won’t be able to get your account back once you do. You also won’t be able to retrieve any photos or videos you’ve previously uploaded.
Reactivate Deleted Instagram Account
Before you rush into creating a new Instagram account, be sure that deleting your old one is what you really want. That’s because Instagram has a feature for reactivating a deleted account: If you change your mind, all it takes is signing in with your username and password on that reactivation page. Once deleted, however, an account cannot be recovered. So think before you delete—and remember that even though it might seem like an extreme step, there are still other ways to get out of a social media platform (like turning off its notifications).